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Application for:        New Business         Change of Business Name       Change of Location       Change of Ownership              

Business Name: 
 

Bus. Start Date: 

Corporate Name (if applicable): 
 

Phone No.: 

Business Location (cannot be P.O. Box per State of California Business & 
Professions Code – Section 17538.5): 

Fax No.: 

Email Address: 

Mailing Address: 
 
 

 

Description of Business: 
 
 
 

 

Ownership:          Corporation        Corp-Ltd Liability          Partnership          Sole Proprietor          Trust 

 
On September 19, 2012, Governor Brown signed into law SB-1186 which adds a state fee of $1 on any application for a 
local business license or similar instrument or permit, or renewal thereof. The purpose is to increase disability access 
and compliance with construction-related accessibility requirements and to develop educational resources for businesses 
in order to facilitate compliance with federal and state disability laws, as specified.  

Under federal and state law, compliance with disability access laws is a serious and significant responsibility that applies 
to all California building owners and tenants with buildings open to the public. You may obtain information about your 
legal obligations and how to comply with disability access law at the following agencies: 

 Division of the State Architect at www.dgs.ca.gov/dsa/Home.aspx 
 Department of Rehabilitation at www.rehab.cahwnet.gov 
 California Commission on Disability Access at www.ccda.ca.gov 

The business license must be renewed annually by the date the license was first issued or the business owner will be in 
violation of the City’s Municipal Code, and penalties will be assessed. Additionally, late charges of 1.5% of the 
outstanding balance or $15 (whichever is greater) will apply to all account balances when payment is not received within 
30 days and will be reassessed each 30 days thereafter when a balance remains outstanding. All returned checks 
will be assessed service charge and the certificate will be nullified.  

It is acknowledged by the undersigned that if it is determined by the City that the business does not comply with all 
applicable federal, state, and city laws, the business license may be revoked by the City. It is also acknowledged that 
any false statements made above or on the Zoning and Building Clearance application pages are grounds for denial or 
revocation of the business license. I declare, under penalty or perjury under the laws of the State of California, that the 
information in this application is true and correct. 

 
Owner/Representative Signature: ______________________________  Title: _______________________________ 
 
Date: _________________ 

CITY OF  
MORRO BAY 

HOME OCCUPATION 
BUSINESS LICENSE 

APPLICATION 
 

City Hall                    
Administrative Services Division 
 

595 Harbor Street 
Morro Bay, CA 93442 
(805) 772-6294 

 

 

Basic Tax  

Misc. Fee 

Total Amount Due 

  Date Paid 

Check/CC 

 

$ 

$ 

$ 

 

http://www.dgs.ca.gov/dsa/Home.aspx
http://www.rehab.cahwnet.gov/
http://www.ccda.ca.gov/
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Conditions for Home Occupation Pursuant to MBMC 17.48.260 

My home occupation will comply with the following conditions:  

1. Location of Activities: Except for approved day care facilities, activities shall be conducted entirely 
within the dwelling unit or an enclosed accessory unit building. The home occupation shall not alter 
the appearance of such structures.  
 

2. Sales or Displays: There shall be no sales or displays on the premises. 
 

3. Signs: There shall be no signs other than names and address of residents.  
 

4. Advertising: Other than business cards or a listing in the phone book, there shall be no advertising 
which identifies the home occupation by street address. 
 

5. Vehicles: No vehicle larger than a three-quarter ton truck may be used in connection with a home 
occupation.  
 

6. Encroachment: The home occupation shall not encroach on any required parking, yard, or open 
space areas. 
 

7. Parking: Parking for vehicles used in connection with the home occupation shall be provided in 
addition to parking required for the residence. 
 

8. Activities: Activities conducted and equipment or materials used shall not change the fire safety or 
occupancy classifications of the premises, nor use utilities different from those normally provided for 
residential use. 
 

9. Hazards or nuisances: No use shall create or cause noise, dust, vibration, smell, smoke, glare, 
electrical interference, or other hazard or nuisance. 
 

10. Employees: Except for approved day care facilities, no employees other than residents of the 
dwelling shall be allowed. 
 

11. Number of Clients: For home occupations other than day care facilities, the number of clients shall 
be limited to one at any time excpet as provided for in Section 17.48.260C.6. Hours for clients shall 
be limited to 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. on weekdays and 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. on weekends and 
holidays. 
 

12. Rental Property: If the occupation is to be conductedon rental property, the proprty owner’s 
authorization for the proposed use shall be obtained prior to the issuance of a Home Occupation 
Permit. 

 

CITY OF  
MORRO BAY 

 

 

HOME OCCUPATION 

 

City Hall                    
Administrative Services Division 
 

595 Harbor Street 
Morro Bay, CA 93442 
(805) 772-6294 
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Home Occupations Prohibited 

 

The following uses by their occupation or nature may interfere with residential activiteis, and 

therefore, shall not be permitted as home occupations at the residence.  

1. Automotive repair (body or mechanical), upholstry, or painting on the side. 

2. Barbershop or beauty shop 

3. Carpentry or cabinetmaking 

4. Welding or machining 

5. Medical offices, clinics, or laboratories 

6. Private schools: Musical or training for more than three students at one time 

7. Appliance, radio, or television repair 

8. Print shops 

9. Bakeries 

10. Commercial and industrial: Other full scale service-commercial, retail or manufactoring 

uses permitted in the commercial and industrial zones. 

11. Vehicular traffic generating businesses: Other uses that would generate on amount of 

vehicular traffic exceeding the normal amount of traffic associated with the residence. 

 

I understand that this permit will become null and void if any of the above conditions are not 

met, and that I will be required to cease this home occupation immediately.  

 

Applicant’s Signature: ______________________________________ Date: _______________ 
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Business Name: _____________________________________________________________  
 

Business Location: _____________________________________________________________ 
 

 

 

Consent for business operation (Type of business and description of activity): 

____________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Property Owner: 
 

Owner Phone Number: 

Owner Address: 
 

Applicant: 
 

Applicant Phone Number: 

Applicant Address: 

 

I/We, the undersigned owner(s) of record of the fee interest in the above noted land for which an 
application for a business license is being requested, do certify that: 
 

I am aware of the business activity proposed, and the applicant has my/our full consent to 
operate at this location. 

 
I certify, under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California, that the foregoing is 
true and correct. 
 
 

 
Signature of  
Property Owner(s): 

 
______________________________________ 

 
 Date: ______________ 
 

  

CITY OF  
MORRO BAY 

HOME OCCUPATION 
BUSINESS LICENSE 
Consent of Landowner 

 

City Hall                    
Administrative Services Division 
 

595 Harbor Street 
Morro Bay, CA 93442 
(805) 772-6294 
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Business Name: _____________________________________________________________ 
 

Business Location: _____________________________________________________________ 
 

 

Enter below names of Owners, Partners, or Corporate Officers (attach additional sheet, if necessary) 

1
st
 Owner Name: 

 
Date of Birth: 

Home Address (cannot be P.O. Box per State of California Business & Professions Code – Section 7538.5): 

 

Driver License Number: 
 

Social Security Number: 

Home Phone Number:  
 

Cell Number:  

2
nd

 Owner Name: 
 

Date of Birth: 

Home Address (cannot be P.O. Box per State of California Business & Professions Code – Section 7538.5): 

 

Driver License Number: 
 

Social Security Number: 

Home Phone Number:  
 

Cell Number:  

 
Resale Number: 
 

State License Number: 

Federal ID Number: 
 

State License Type: 

State ID Number: 
 

Expire Date: 

  

CITY OF  
MORRO BAY 

HOME OCCUPATION 
 BUSINESS LICENSE 

Owner Information 
 

City Hall                    
Administrative Services Division 
 

595 Harbor Street 
Morro Bay, CA 93442 
(805) 772-6294 

 

 
 



 

Home Occupation Business License Application 
Page 6 

 

 
Dear Business Owner: 
 

The following information is used by the Morro Bay Police Department when contact is necessary 
for safety or criminal purposes, such as an injured employee, an unsecured door or window, a break-in, 
or threat of property damage.  Your assistance in keeping our files current with accurate, complete 
information helps us provide you the best service possible.  Local contact information is crucial for 
responses. If cell phones are listed, please ensure they are left on at night. 
 

Please complete and return this form to our department.  Feel free to indicate any additional 
information you feel could be useful to the Police or Fire Department in the event our response is 
required.  If you have an alarm company or combination lock/gate at the location, please indicate below, if 
additional information is needed, please use back of form.  Please include separate mailing address if 
applicable.  If you have any questions please call us at (805) 772-6225. 
 

Sincerely, 
Amy Christey 
Chief of Police 
 

BUSINESS EMERGENCY CONTACT INFORMATION 

Name of Business: 
 

Phone Number: 

Business Address: 
 

Type of Business: 
 

Business Hours: 

Alarm Company: 
 

Alarm Company Phone Number: 

Name of Owner/Manager: 

First 
Contact 

Name: Phone Number: 

Address: 

Second 
Contact 

Name: Phone Number: 

Address: 

Third 
Contact 

Name: Phone Number: 

Address: 

Additional Information: 

 

CITY OF  
MORRO BAY 

HOME OCCUPATION 

 BUSINESS LICENSE 
Emergency Contact 

Information 
 

Police Department                    
850 Morro Bay Boulevard 
Morro Bay, CA 93442 
(805) 772-6225 

 

 
 


